A BRIEF HISTORY OF THE WOMEN'S INTER-SCHOOL GOLF CHALLENGE CUP

In 1929, a committee of twelve was formed to represent different schools to foster teamwork in Associate golf and to promote a charity day for women or children's charities. The schools were Clyde, Fintona, Firbank, Loreto Abbey, Melbourne C.E.G.G.S. (Merton Hall), M.L.C., Tintern, Geelong C.E.G.G.S. (The Hermitage), Ormiston, P.L.C., Ruyton and Toorak College. A number of other schools, including Warwick were invited to participate. An annual competition was then open to associate golfers who were financial members of their Old Girls' Association of the Public and Registered Secondary Schools of Victoria. In 2014, financial eligibility was amended and the event is now open to players who are past students of one of the member schools and hold a current GA Handicap of 35 or less.

The 1st annual inter-schools golf match was held on the Cheltenham links of the Victoria Golf Club that year. *Table Talk* magazine donated a magnificent antique trophy. The cup of solid silver, was made in London in 1827 in the reign of George IV and was known as the *Table Talk Challenge Cup*.

In 1939 when *Table Talk* closed the *Sun News-Pictorial* undertook to sponsor this annual event and to provide the trophies – four silver teaspoons, one for each member of the winning team, together with a silver shield, engraved with the names of the winning team to be added to the base of the cup each year.

At the general meeting in December 1940, it was agreed that play in the competition be suspended for the duration of the War.

Originally it was permitted to enter up to 14 or 15 players per school, the four best scores constituting the team. Now that there are 30 schools competing, each school enters a team of four players and counts the stableford scores to arrive at their result.

For many years the golf clubs donated their courses for the event. During the 1970's the teams started to pay a nominal fee. In the 1990's with all lady golfers being full members of their respective golf clubs and green fees becoming higher each year, the Committee are endeavouring to keep the entry fees at a reasonable level. From 1930 to 1938 the entry fee was 2/6; in 1994 it was \$25, now in 2014 the entry fee is \$95.

Each year the competition is held at a different golf club. From 1929 the day was organised by a representative and a delegate from the 12 original schools. At the Annual General Meeting in 1980 it was decided to invite a representative from each school playing to be on the Committee and for all to participate in organising the day.

The Committee now consists of 30 representatives from all the original schools (with the exception of Ormiston which is no longer functioning), together with representatives from Cato, Clarendon, Genazzano, Geelong Grammar, Ivanhoe Grammar, Kilbreda, Korowa, Lauriston, Mandeville Hall, Mentone Grammar, Morongo, Presentation College Windsor, Sacre Coeur, St. Catherine's, St. Margaret's, Shelford, Strathcona, Star of the Sea and St. Leonards College

During the early years a different women's or children's charity benefitted from the proceeds, the donation ranging from £15 to £25. The beneficiaries included the children's sections of the Royal Victorian Institute of the Blind, the Eye and Ear Hospital, Prince Henry's Hospital, The Queen Victoria Hospital, The Royal Melbourne Hospital, The Aftercare for Paralysis Patients Hospital, The Orthopaedic section of the Children's Hospital, the Free Kindergarten Holiday Home and the Sun Toy Fund. From 1996 our proceeds of approximately \$3,000 per year are donated to *The Cottage by the Sea* in Queenscliff. To date $(2019) \sim \$64,000$ has been raised in total.

The annual match has become a day which everyone looks forward to and enjoys, feeling privileged to have the opportunity to represent their old school and to compete for the much prized trophy.

We remember Miss Kitty McEwan (Ormiston), the first honorary secretary and treasurer in our Kitty McEwan Memorial Trophy, presented to the player with the highest score in the "A" Division. Miss Nell Goff (Warwick), who held the same position for 23 years from 1954 is also remembered in our Nell Goff Memorial Trophy, which is presented to the player with the highest score in the "B" Division.

Early in 1995 the title of this event reverted to its original name - *The Inter-School Golf Challenge Cup*. The *Sun* was no longer interested in sponsoring either the golf or tennis inter-schools annual events and so we parted amicably. Since 2007 the event has been called "The Women's Inter-School Golf Challenge Cup" due to many schools becoming co-educational.

THE WOMEN'S INTER-SCHOOL GOLF CHALLENGE CUP

PREVIOUS WINNERS

1929	P.L.C.	1990	Toorak College
1930	Toorak College	1991	Ruyton
1931	Clyde	1992	Ruyton
1932	Toorak College	1993	Lowther Hall
1933	St. Catherine's	1994	Sacre Coeur
1934	Geelong C.E.G.G.S.	1995	Clarendon
1935	P.L.C.	1996	Clyde
1936	St. Catherine's	1997	Toorak College
1937	P.L.C.	1998	Toorak College
1938	Melbourne C.E.G.G.S.	1999	Clyde
1939	P.L.C.	2000	M.L.C.
1940	Mandeville Hall	2001	St. Margarets
	War Years -Suspended	2002	Ivanhoe Grammar
1947	P.L.C.	2003	Hermitage
1948	P.L.C.	2004	M.L.C.
1949	P.L.C.	2005	Firbank
1950	P.L.C.	2006	St. Catherine's
	P.L.C.		Lauriston
1951		2007	
1952	P.L.C.	2008	Strathcona
1953	Clyde	2009	Lauriston
1954	P.L.C.	2010	Clyde
1955	Melbourne C.E.G.G.S.	2011	Clarendon
1956	Geelong C.E.G.G.S.	2012	St Margarets
1957	Firbank C.E.G.G.S.	2013	Shelford
1958	P.L.C.	2014	Korowa
1959	Firbank C.E.G.G.S.	2015	Firbank
1960	Lauriston	2016	Geelong Grammar
1961	Korowa C.E.G.G.S.	2017	Fintona
1962	Mandeville Hall	2018	Genazzano
1963	Melbourne C.E.G.G.S.	2019	Korowa
1964	Fintona	_0.0	
1965	Sacre Coeur		
1966	Fintona		
1967	Warwick		
1968	Lauriston		
	M.L.C.		
1969			
1970	Lauriston		
1971	St. Catherine's		
1972	Firbank		
1973	Toorak College		
1974	Toorak College		
1975	Lauriston		
1976	St. Catherine's		
1977	Shelford		
1978	Fintona		
1979	M.L.C.		
1980	St. Catherine's		
1981	Fintona		
1982	St. Catherine's		
1983	Fintona		
1984	P.L.C.		
1985	Lauriston		
1986	Korowa		
1987	Korowa		
1988	Ruyton		
1989	Shelford		